Friday, 29 May 2009

Cyprus Handicraft Centre, Limassol, Cyprus


Art in Cyprus is part of the country's history and tradition. As far back as ancient times, Cyprus has been famous for its handicrafts. At the Handicraft Centre in Limossol, you can buy locally made gifts and souvenirs, such as jewellery, mosiacs, ceramic pieces and woodcarvings, all created using traditional skills by local crafts people.

All the items are government vetted and the prices are fixed, and offer a fair gauge of how much visitors may be likely to spend elsewhere.

LOCATION: 25, Themidos Str., Limassol

TEL:(05)330118

OPENING HOURS: 7.30AM TO 2.30PM DAILY
ALSO WEDNESDAYS 3PM TO 6PM - EXCEPT JULY AND AUGUST

Limassol Central Market, Cyprus


Limassol has a central market which starts each morning at ‘the crack of dawn’ and really is brimming over with great fruit, vegetables, honey, nuts and all types of other delights – not surprisingly many owners of local restaurants buy produce for their businesses there! To take a wander early in the morning around the market, is an excellent way to start the day, followed by breakfast in one of the unique outdoor cafes nearby.

The market itself is housed in a graceful pillared stone building, filled with stalls full of Cypriot delicacies such as handmade reed baskets, olive oil, and loukoumia. The stone paved square outside often becomes a venue for shows and fairs throughout the year.

LOCATION: Saripolou, in the old district near the town hall.
OPENING HOURS: 7am to 2pm MON to SAT

Saturday, 23 May 2009

Sanctuary Of Apollo Hylates, Limassol


Apollo Hylates, God of the Woodland, was the protector of the city of Kourion. The cult of Apollo was celebrated here from the 8th century B.C. to the 4th century AD.

The southwest side of the temple has been restored, and excavations have also revealed other structures of this important sanctuary, such as the bath complex, the pilgrim halls, the palaistra, and a Holy precinct.

The Sanctuary of Apollo "Hylates" provides an important illustration of the religious life in the region, from the pre-Hellenic to the Hellenic and Roman eras, a total of at least 1100 years.


LOCATION:
3 Kilometres west of Kourion, on the road to Paphos.


OPENING HOURS:

Daily - 09:00-17:00
During Summer - 09:00-19:30

Kourion Archaeological Site, Limassol


An important ancient city-kingdom, Kourion is one of the most spectacular archaeological sites on the island of Cyprus. It features a fully restored Graeco-Roman Theatre, originally built in the 2nd century BC, now used for musical and theatrical performances, but also a marvel to see simply as it is.

The site is comprised of 5th century relics such as the House of Eustolios, originally a private Roman villa featuring baths and numerous rooms, and the Early Christian basilica, believed to have been the Cathedral of Kourion. The House of Achilles and the House of the Gladiators boast intricate mosaic floors, the Nymphaeum is a Roman structure dedicated to water nymphs and the ancient theatre has been restored to its former glory.

OPENING HOURS:
WEEKDAYS ONLY
Jun-Aug 8am-7.30pm
April-May and Sep-Oct 8am-6pm
Nov-Mar 8am-5pm

LOCATION: Episkopi, 19km west of Limassol. Kourion Stadium lies 1km to the west on the right side of the road to Paphosos.

Ayios Georgios Of Alamanou Convent (Convent of St George), Limassol


Founded in the 12th century, this 800 year old convent is dedicated to Saint George. Besides their religious order, the nuns at the convent perform various tasks and activities, of which they indulge in the production of honey, the cultivation of flowers and herbs, and they also have a very respectable reputation for the high quality in religious-icon painting.

LOCATION: Off the Nicosia-Limassol road, 19 Kilometers from Limassol.

Wednesday, 20 May 2009

St. Nicholas of the Cats, Limassol


The monastery, founded in AD 325, is the second oldest in Cyprus; the church dates from the 1200s. The peaceful convent in Limassol, St. Nicholas of the Cats seems to be occupied by cats instead of nuns. The little peninsula past the Akrotiri military base is still called Cape Gata ("She-Cat").

St. Helena, mother of Constantine the Great, landed here in AD 328, finding the place swarming with poisonous snakes. She sent a shipload of cats to get rid of the snakes. The cats were fed a bit of meat morning and night to limit their intake of venom. The snakes were vanquished, people returned and fishermen fished. The St. Nicholas Day catch was given to the monastery to assure a good year. Ever since the cape is called Cape Gata for the cats. Monks lived in the monastery until 1570, perishing in the Turkish invasion. After several revials and periods of neglect, nuns came in 1983. They care for hundreds of cats, with government help for the food.

ALSO KNOWN AS: Ayios Nikolaos ton Gaton
LOCATION: Edge of Akrotiri village, Limassol.

Kolossi Castle, Limassol


Surrounded by rich orchards and 6 miles /10km west of the city of Limassol, stands the massive Kolossi Castle, built in 1210 by the Knights of St John.

The castle is a fine example of military architecture. It was originally constructed in the 13th century and subsequently rebuilt in its present form in the middle of the 15th century. It served as the Grand Commandery of the Knights of the Order of St John of Jerusalem. In the 14th century it came under the domain of the Knights Templar.

OPENING TIMES:

September 1 to May 31
Mon TO Sun Open 9:00 TO 17:00

June 1 to August 31
Mon TO Sun Open 9:00 TO 19:30

Always closed on:
New Year's Day (January 1)
Greek Orthodox Easter
Christmas - Christian (December 25)